“Add Authenticity”

I want to boast a little here. You know I am grateful that over the years I have made and built great relationships and so thankful for this gifts. I can’t handle shallow conversation and meaningless talks. When I was growing up I watch my mother interact with the neighbors, she was and is authentic in her approach to friendships. Not so long ago, I started making decisions that I am going to invest my talents in ways that give God the glory and honor. The church I go to is a small church and lately, we are blessed to have visitors almost every Sunday. And you know sometimes, it is comfortable to hang out with our friends and catching up. If we don’t plan out and being purposeful with visitors, we will miss out! So today, its one of those days and a handful of newer people worshiping with us this morning and I feel the need of making them feel welcome. But sometimes, how do we add authenticity into our actions without being pushy? I don’t know if their is a formula for it; but I think sincerity is part of our make up. Its in our DNA, we cannot fake it. People are very intuitive and observant that I think we can sense if someone is insincere.

So, what do we ask when we meet new people? I find an “ice breaker” first; I always find something to comments, may it be what their wearing, the color of the clothes, their smile, or the twinkle of their eyes. Anything! I also like to know where they come from and from what church they’re visiting? How did they hear about us? But I think the true art of this experience is remembering their names and a bit about the last visit. How do we make sure its not “groundhog day” for every time they visits? For me its the name and a bit about our last conversation. What do you think, is authenticity is an art or a skill?

About crazykindness

A sinner saved by grace.
This entry was posted in Power Principles, Spending Quality Time, Words Of Encouragement and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Add Authenticity”

  1. Christine says:

    Interesting post! I think it’s true that visitors can sense genuine caring. If you ask their name & what they do, if they enjoy their work, or maybe have they studied much about the scripture mentioned in the message.
    Best not to ask about spouses unless they volunteer some info, as some folks are “painfully separated,” etc. I’ve read that for some visitors even a “What’s your job?” can be embarrassing if they’ve been laid off. But most of us like to talk about ourselves; most people readily forgive blunders if they feel genuine caring. If we’re uncertain, we can ask the Lord to give us an opening to show interest. After all, He knows their situation better than they do themselves. 🙂

Leave a Reply

