“Forgiveness Will Allow Us To Remember The Past Without The Pain”

On the topic of forgiveness; how many of us has never been disappointed or have not been insulted by someone. Or how many times have we, ourselves caused someone to feel hurt by our own actions? You see, we either need to be forgiven or forgive. When I was younger I’ve learned a valuable lessons on forgiveness-thanks to my mum. On a fine Thursday afternoon, I happen to be at one of our neighbors yard and I heard people talking about this particular lady with a questionable past- whether its the truth or not I could not be sure of. But instead of going to her for facts I found myself telling others on what I just heard, instead. The rumors seems to spread fast like a wild fire because within 30minutes my mother have heard of this and called me in. She asked me if I knew anything about the rumors? I should know better not to lie to mother, she has this amazing ability to find things out! So, I admitted my guilt for starting and spreading the rumors. My wise mother, ordered me to go and make things right with this lady and to ask for her forgiveness for dishonoring her name and for spreading the lies. Do you how humiliating and totally embarrassing that was? So, for fear of mother’s punishments I went to recompense and had to go to all the people that I spread the rumors with asking their forgiveness also. Do you think my mother was cruel for teaching me this lesson? Hmmm…

How great is our debts? We’re all ten thousand sinners and God is a God of complete and utter forgiveness. In Matthew 18: 23 & 27 is the picture of the Forgiving King-23 “Therefore, the kingdom of heaven is like a king who wanted to settle accounts with his servants. 24 As he began the settlement, a man who owed him ten thousand bags of gold[h]was brought to him. 25 Since he was not able to pay, the master ordered that he and his wife and his children and all that he had be sold to repay the debt.

26 “At this the servant fell on his knees before him. ‘Be patient with me,’ he begged, ‘and I will pay back everything.’ 27 The servant’s master took pity on him, canceled the debt and let him go. 

We each have received mercy and grace from our family, friends, and even our bosses. Some? more than often! It is why I like to use mercy and grace because often times we don’t deserves forgiveness from others, right? How come its hard to extend that same mercy and grace to people who have wronged us? Can this Unforgiving Servant story in the Bible could help us? Matthew 18: 28 & 31- 28 “But when that servant went out, he found one of his fellow servants who owed him a hundred silver coins.[i] He grabbed him and began to choke him. ‘Pay back what you owe me!’ he demanded.

29 “His fellow servant fell to his knees and begged him, ‘Be patient with me, and I will pay it back.’

30 “But he refused. Instead, he went off and had the man thrown into prison until he could pay the debt. 31 When the other servants saw what had happened, they were outraged and went and told their master everything that had happened.

32 “Then the master called the servant in. ‘You wicked servant,’ he said, ‘I canceled all that debt of yours because you begged me to. 33 Shouldn’t you have had mercy on your fellow servant just as I had on you?’ 34 In anger his master handed him over to the jailers to be tortured, until he should pay back all he owed.

I sometimes wonder if I hadn’t obey my mother that day where would I be today, spiritually? Without repentance, I think the consequences would be a slave to my guilt. The rumors I started could cause me to get separated from my mother’s love emotionally because I think I would rather avoid her. I definitely would be separated spiritually until I am ready to make things right with God and the people that were involved. Of course, there is the physical separations, too. Unforgiving spirit separates us from living a life that is fully. Matthew 18:-35 “This is how my heavenly Father will treat each of you unless you forgive your brother or sister from your heart.”

The right attitude and why we forgive:

  • We realize we have been forgiven.
  • We separate the person from the action.
  • We surrender our right to get even.
  • We change our feelings towards the person that wronged us.
It has been my personal experience that we cannot be fully whole until we learn to let go of our guilt. On that day, when I started the rumors, I felt worse and the guilt was weighing me down. Thanks to my mother interventions, I longed for that feeling of FREE again. We can be free from our past. My pastor Trevor Josh said “forgiveness will allow us to remember the past without the pain. Forgiveness is not forgetting the past”. Our great example is the Lord Jesus Christ, He is not asking us to do what He has not done already! If you want to experience a satisfied life? Forgive! Let me know if you agree or disagree. Thanks for reading.
About crazykindness

A sinner saved by grace.
This entry was posted in Words Of Encouragement and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

